---
title: "Scheduling Orders"
canonical: "https://networkconnect.docs.rubiconwater.com/space/NC/3045556228/Scheduling%20Orders"
format: markdown
---
> Macro (toc)

> Macro (details)
> 
> | **Source** | [https://rubiconwater.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/NC/pages/3045556228](https://rubiconwater.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/NC/pages/3045556228) |
> | --- | --- |
> | **Space** | NC |
> | **Language** | English |

> Macro (hiddenfragment-macro)
> 
> > Macro (detailssummary)

# Scheduling Options

After you have created a plan the next step is to schedule the orders in the plan. To schedule an order you must first add it to a plan segment (or “head”). There are two ways to do this:

- Manually - create your own segments and drag orders into each segment.
- [Automatically](https://rubiconwater.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/NC/pages/3033333833) - choose the Auto-Scheduler option from the menu at the top-right of the Plan Details screen. The autoscheduler can create segments and add orders to segments.

You can also use a mixture of these methods. For example, you could use the auto-scheduler to create an initial plan and then edit the segments manually to correct any issues with the plan.

# What is a Segment?

A Segment (also called a Head) is a grouping of orders and is used to simplify the management and sequencing of orders in a plan. You can display segments either horizontally or vertically on the Plan Details screen by configuring the :SettingsIcon: **Settings** options

> ℹ️ **Tip**
> ℹ️ 
> ℹ️ If you display the segment panels vertically, you can click the  :expandIcon: **Expand** icon at the bottom of the segment section to show more details of all the segments panels.

When an order is added to a segment it can be automatically linked to the previous order in the sequence. This means that its start time can be synchronised to the finish time of the previous order.

# Carried Over Orders

There may be some orders and segments in a new plan that have already been scheduled or published. This happens:

- When orders from the previous planning period have not completed by the time the new plan begins.
- When unscheduled orders in a plan are scheduled to begin after the end of the plan date range.

# Resetting the Plan

You can reset any changes you have made to the schedule using the **Start All Over Again** menu option in the Plan Details screen. This will return all the orders to the Unscheduled Orders list and delete any segments EXCEPT segments and orders that were carried over from a previous plan.

> ℹ️ **Note**
> ℹ️ 
> ℹ️ You can only do this if the plan has never been published. If the plan has been published the scheduled orders will already be *Estimated* and irrigators will have been notified of the scheduling details.